President Ram Baran Yadav has appointed Anup Raj Sharma as the new Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, Sunday morning.

President Yadav appointed Sharma as the new chief justice after the Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee approved Sharma’s nomination on Thursday. Earlier, the Constitutional Council had forwarded Sharma’s name for the position of new CJ to PHSC on November 30.

Immediate past CJ Min Bahadur Rayamajhi retired on Saturday due to age bar. Newly appointed CJ Sharma will assume office from today after taking oath of office and secrecy from the President, this morning.